Part 2

During the second part of the examination, each candidate will be asked to look at two photographs. You will each be asked questions on your photographs. Then you will be asked to have a conversation with the other candidate.

Look at the two photographs and answer the following questions:

Look at pictures A and B of two families having breakfast and compare them.

fowlercolorunit1.jpg

The first picture shows … but in the second picture …

What are mealtimes like in your home?

Usually we … / Usually mealtimes at our house are …
It depends. Sometimes we … but at other times we …

Which family group is most similar to your own family?

Well, I suppose that … / In our family …

What are the advantages and disadvantages of growing up in a large family?

I think … but …

What difficulties do you think working mothers face?

I imagine that …

Do you think that grandparents have an important role in the family? Why?

In my opinion, … because …

I think that grandparents are important because …

Do you enjoy large family gatherings or do you prefer to see members of your family on their own? Why?

I enjoy / I prefer …

It depends … Sometimes …

Useful words

parents
son
daughter
only child
grandparents
family members
in a hurry
going to work/school
dressed in…
suit
school uniform
everyone talking at the same time/no one talks
we eat at different times/together
someone/no one to play with
noisy
too many people around
lonely
only child
working mothers
pressure of work
too much to do too
busy to play with
grandparents can look after…
plenty of time company help
prefer to see people individually
can have a more interesting conversation with one person
enjoy seeing all the family together
party
more fun

Paper 2 b

Answer the following questions about your house. You can also discuss them with your partner.

Do you live in a house or in an apartment?
How many rooms are there?
Which room do you spend most of your time in? Why?
Is your home in a town or in the country?
Do you have access to a garden? If so, describe it?
Do you know your neighbours?
What type of house would you like to live in?

Look at pictures A and B and answer the following questions.
Describe what you see in the pictures.

fowlercolorunit2.jpg

Well, picture A shows … but picture B shows …

In the right/left hand comer … / In the foreground/background, I can see …

Which home would you rather live in? Why?

I would rather live in. .. because …

I would prefer to live in. .. because …
What kind of people might be living in each house? Why?

I suppose …
It looks like the kind of house where …

In your opinion, which home would be more expensive to maintain? Why?

In my opinion …. because…
I suppose that. .. because …

What are the advantages and disadvantages of living in a city / town / village?

I think the advantages of living in a town are … and the disadvantages are …

I imagine that …

Do the benefits of living in the countryside outweigh the difficulties?

Well, I think so because there are many benefits, such as …
I don’t think so because there are many disadvantages, like …

If you could change one thing in your house/room, what would it be?

I would like to change/replace/buy a new …

Useful words

block of flats
apartment
farmhouse
cottage
detached/semi-detached house
modern in good/poor condition
balcony
porch
flight of stairs
rural surroundings
countryside
peaceful
natural beauty
fresh air
urban
lively
noisy
pollution
neighbours
local community
city centre
nothing to do
lonely
far away from town
there’s a lot going on
plenty to do
economical (doesn’t cost much to keep)
expensive (costs a lot) to maintain

Part 2, c

Answer the following questions.

Do you live in a town, city or village?
Where do you usually do your shopping?
How do you get there?
Are there good leisure and entertainment facilities in your neighbourhood? If so, describe them.
Is there much pollution where you live?
Are there any dangerous areas in your neighbourhood?
If you lived in a city, would you prefer to live in the centre or the suburbs? Why?

In the examination, each candidate will have two photographs to look at and talk about before they discuss all four photographs with each other.

In order to practise this, look at each of the photographs, A, B, C and D, with a partner and answer the following questions together. This will help you get used to discussing a subject with another candidate.

Pictures A and B
fowlercolorunit3picturesab.jpg

Student A: Discuss the following questions with Student B. Start the conversation by answering the question and then invite Student B to enter the discussion.

Student B: Listen carefully to what Student A is saying and then say what you think.

Look at pictures A and B and compare the different shopping areas.

In picture A I can see … but … (To partner) Can you see anything else?
Well, …

Which area would you like to go shopping in?

I’d like to… because (To partner) What about you?
I’d prefer …because / I’d rather go …

Do you enjoy shopping?

I enjoy… , but … (To partner) How do you feel about…?
I like / don’t like … but I agree that…

Do you prefer shopping on your own or with a friend?

I prefer … / It depends (To partner) Do you agree?
Yes, I do / No I don’t
Sometimes I … but at other times …

What’s your shopping area like?

Well, …
It’s (not) like the shopping area in picture …

What improvements would you like to see in your shopping area?

I would like …
Yes, I would too / I’d like …

Pictures C and D

fowlercolorunit3picturescd.jpg
Student B: Discuss the following questions with Student A. Start the conversation by answering the question and then invite Student A to enter the discussion.

Student A: Listen carefully to what Student B is saying and then say what you think.

Look at pictures C and D with your partner and describe them.

The first picture shows … but … Yes, I agree. There is/are also ..

Which neighbourhood is most similar to your own?

Well, I suppose … (To partner) What about your neighbourhood?

What sort of contact do you think that somebody living in picture C has with their neighbours compared to somebody living in picture D?

I imagine that …. (To partner) Do you agree?
Yes, I agree because … / No, I don’t agree because …

How often do you see your neighbours? Where do you usually see them?

I suppose (To partner) What about you?

Well, I see … Usually, … / I don’t see …

What are the advantages or disadvantages of living in the accommodation represented in picture C?

I suppose that… such as … (To partner) Can you think of anything else?
Well, in my opinion, …

What are the advantages or disadvantages of living in the accommodation represented in picture D?

Well, I think that … like … (To partner) What do you think?
Yes, I agree with you. Also … / I don’t agree with you because … such as …

Useful words

shopping centre
department store
busy city shopping area
local village shops
supermarket
corner shop
market
personal service
friendly atmosphere
helpful salespeople
convenient
plenty of choice
cheaper
special discounts
not much choice
more expensive
accept credit cards
fashionable
crowded/quiet
on foot
by car

Paper 2, d

We will continue to practise ways of discussing photographs in an interesting and natural way.

We will also practise developing a conversation further with a partner. Remember, you can use the suggested phrases and words to help you.

There are two photographs in this unit and you are going to discuss both of them with your partner.

Student A will open the discussion about pictures A and B and will invite Student B to take part in the conversation, using the guides given.

Look at pictures A and B with your partner and compare them.

fowlercolorunit4.jpg
In the first picture … but …

Yes, and there’s also… The main difference is …

Which classroom arrangement is most similar to the one in your school?

Well, I suppose … (To partner) What about your school?
Well, it’s almost the same … I It’s quite different because …

When you were younger, how were the desks arranged in your classroom?

Well, they were (not) similar to this … Actually, our classroom was …

Which classroom arrangement do you think is better? Why?

I think that … because (To partner) Don’t you agree?
Yes, I do … / No, I don’t because …

Are there any disadvantages to the arrangement you see in picture A?

In my opinion, the main disadvantage … (To partner) What do you think?

Are there any disadvantages to the arrangement you see in picture B?

Well, perhaps a problem may be that … (To partner) Do you agree?
Yes, I agree with you … / In my opinion, …

B Conversational development

Continue to expand your conversation with your partner using these questions as a guide.

Does classroom environment affect the way you learn? How?

Yes, because … such as… (To partner) What’s your opinion?
Well, I suppose …

Do you think it’s important that teachers are strict or can they be friendly?
Well, I think it’s important that … because …

I (don’t) agree … because … / I don’t see how they can …

What’s your favourite subject at school? Why do you like it?

… because it’s … and … (To partner) How about you? What do you like most?
I like … too / Well, I prefer … because …

Is there a subject not taught at your school which you would like to study? Why would you like to study it?

As far as I’m concerned, I’d like to study. . because …
I think I’d like to study … because …

Are there any subjects at school which you don’t think are necessary? Why?

In my opinion, … (To partner) What do you think?
Well, I think that …


Useful words

in rows of desks
in groups
free to choose your seat
relaxed atmosphere
lack of discipline
more disciplined
noisy
group work
ideas
working together/individually
quiet/noisy outside
temperature
fresh air
size
lighting
more modern subjects
relevant to my interests
useful

Leave a Reply

